The short answer. At the four suppliers that publish prices, one week's kitchen pod hire costs £320 to £385 and four weeks costs £980 to £1,280, before delivery and deposits. Delivery is free near two suppliers' bases; elsewhere it costs from £125, or an amount set in your quote. Deposits are £200 or £250. The written quote for your dates and postcode is the price that counts.

Search for temporary kitchen hire prices and you mostly find "call for a quote". So on 28 October 2026 we read the price page of every supplier listed on this site, on its own website, and wrote down exactly what each one says. We have not rounded anything or worked out an average: every figure below is the supplier's own, or simple arithmetic from its own published rates, and we say which is which.
Prices change. Treat this page as a guide to what to expect and what to ask, then get a written quote from each supplier for your own dates and address.
How much does it cost to hire a temporary kitchen pod?
Published prices start at £320 for one week at Northern Kitchen Pods and reach £1,280 for four weeks there. Delivery and deposits come on top.
Here is each supplier's published price list, as written on its own website on 28 October 2026. All four are outdoor kitchen pods delivered to your driveway.
| Supplier | Published hire price | Minimum hire |
|---|---|---|
| Temporary Pod SolutionsSleaford, Lincolnshire | 1 week £349; 2 weeks £620; 3 weeks £875; 4 weeks £1,099; then £260 for each extra weekIts price page says it was updated 17 October 2026 | 1 week, no maximum |
| Essential SpacesScunthorpe, Lincolnshire | 1 week £370; 2 weeks £650; 3 weeks £850; 4 weeks £995; then £250 for each extra week | Not stated (prices start at 1 week) |
| The Kitchen RescueBroxbourne, Hertfordshire | £55 a day for one week; £40 a day for two weeks; £35 a day for three weeks or longer | 7 days |
| Northern Kitchen PodsLeeds, West Yorkshire | £48 a day for 1 to 6 days; £320 a week for 1 to 4 weeks; £300 a week from 5 weeks | From 1 day |
| GalleysCornwall | No prices published. Quotes on request | 2 weeks |
| Pod Solutions Group (Kitchenpod)Guildford, Surrey | No prices published on its own website. Quotes on request | Not stated |
None of the four suppliers that publish prices says on its price page whether they include VAT. Ask for the total including VAT when you request a quote.
What would 1, 2, 4 or 8 weeks cost at each supplier?
For four weeks, the published prices range from £980 at The Kitchen Rescue to £1,280 at Northern Kitchen Pods, before delivery, deposits and any fuel.
Suppliers price in different ways (set prices by the week, a daily rate, or a weekly rate that drops for longer hires), so we worked out the same four hire lengths for each one from its own published rates. Figures marked with an asterisk are our arithmetic rather than a total the supplier publishes.
| Hire length | Temporary Pod Solutions | Essential Spaces | The Kitchen Rescue | Northern Kitchen Pods |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 week | £349 | £370 | £385*7 days at £55 | £320 |
| 2 weeks | £620 | £650 | £560*14 days at £40 | £640Its own worked example uses 2 weeks at £320 |
| 4 weeks | £1,099 | £995 | £980*28 days at £35 | £1,280*4 weeks at £320 |
| 8 weeks | £2,139Its own figure | £1,995*£995 plus 4 weeks at £250 | £1,960*56 days at £35 | £2,400*8 weeks at £300, if every week is charged at the 5 week rate; confirm |
Two things stand out. Longer hires cost less per week everywhere: Essential Spaces charges £370 for one week but £995 for four, and Temporary Pod Solutions charges £260 for each week after the fourth. And the cheapest hire price is not always the cheapest total, because delivery depends on how far you live from each supplier's base. A supplier with a slightly higher weekly price may cost less overall if it delivers free to your area.
Is delivery included in the price?
Sometimes. Two suppliers deliver free near their base and charge further away. The other two always charge, from £125 and from £150.
- Temporary Pod Solutions: delivery, set up and collection are free within 30 miles of its base near Sleaford. Further away it charges for delivery, worked out on distance and hire length, and shows the cost in your quote.
- Essential Spaces: free delivery within its local area in Lincolnshire. It says a delivery charge "may apply" beyond that, but does not publish the amount.
- The Kitchen Rescue: delivery and collection are quoted separately, from £150. Its website lists that as £75 for delivery and £75 for collection.
- Northern Kitchen Pods: delivery is charged by distance from Leeds: up to 25 miles £125; 26 to 50 miles £175; 51 to 75 miles £200; 76 miles or more £275. It says delivery is paid in full before the pod arrives.
Difficult access can add to the cost, so send photos of your driveway with your quote request; what each supplier needs is in our kitchen pod hire comparison.
How much is the deposit, and do you get it back?
Deposits are £200 or £250, and Essential Spaces takes a second £200 on delivery. Each supplier sets its own refund and deduction rules.
- Temporary Pod Solutions: £200, paid 30 days before delivery and separate from the hire price. It refunds the deposit after collection minus the cost of the gas you used, and bills the difference if the gas costs more than £200.
- Essential Spaces: a £200 deposit to secure your date, then a £200 security deposit on delivery, refunded in full if the pod is undamaged. Its page does not say whether the first £200 comes off the hire price, so ask.
- The Kitchen Rescue: a £250 security deposit reserves the pod. It says the deposit is normally refunded within 5 working days of collection after an inspection, and is not refunded if you cancel.
- Northern Kitchen Pods: £250, payable before delivery and returned within 5 days of collection if the pod and its contents come back in good condition.
Confirm in writing what is refundable, what might be deducted and when cancellation fees start before you pay anything.
Who pays for the gas and electricity?
It depends on the supplier. Gas is included at two, metered and charged at one, and electricity always comes from your own sockets.
Three of the four pods cook on bottled gas. Essential Spaces says all the gas needed for the hire is included, with a spare bottle. Northern Kitchen Pods provides the bottle and says it covers the cost of a replacement if it runs out. Temporary Pod Solutions fits a gas meter, reads it at delivery and collection, and charges for the gas you used from your deposit.
The Kitchen Rescue's pod cooks by electricity. Every pod plugs into your household sockets for lights, fridge and appliances, so expect your own electricity bill to rise while the pod is running. No supplier publishes a figure for this, and it will depend on your household.
What does the price include?
Each published price covers a fitted kitchen pod delivered for your hire. What comes with it varies: appliances, utensils and gas differ by supplier.
Essential Spaces says its prices include all utensils and all the gas for the hire, which matters when you compare totals. The appliances in each pod are set side by side in our kitchen pod hire comparison. A cheaper pod without a washing machine may cost more overall if you end up at the launderette every week.
Why do some suppliers not publish prices?
Galleys and Kitchenpod quote each job individually. Ask both for a written quote using the same dates and postcode as everyone else.
Galleys says it usually quotes within a day and hires from 2 weeks to several months. Pod Solutions Group, which trades as Kitchenpod, is the only listed supplier offering indoor kitchens as well as outdoor pods, so its price depends on the kind of installation you need. We found an undated price for Kitchenpod on a third party website but have not used it, because we could not confirm it with the supplier.
What makes a quote higher or lower
Hire length, distance from the supplier, driveway access, fuel arrangements and extensions make the biggest difference to the total you pay.
- Length of hire. A short hire costs more per week because delivery, set up and collection still have to happen. Compare the price for your likely full hire, not the weekly rate alone.
- Distance. The further you are from a supplier's base, the more delivery is likely to cost. See the delivery list above.
- Kitchen type and specification. Pod size, appliances and an indoor rather than outdoor kitchen all change the price.
- Fuel. Gas included, gas metered and charged, or electric cooking on your own bill.
- Delays. Building work often overruns, and each extra week adds to the total.
Do site preparation and connections cost extra?
Usually not, if your sockets, outside tap and drain are within the supplier's distances. Ask whether a waste pump or longer hoses would cost extra.
Those distances differ between suppliers, and our kitchen pod hire comparison sets them side by side.
How much does it cost to extend the hire?
Where suppliers publish it, an extra week costs £250 at Essential Spaces and £260 at Temporary Pod Solutions. Others extend on request.
Ask whether you can extend, how much notice is needed and what each extra week or day costs. Temporary Pod Solutions says it adds weeks if the pod is free and asks for as much notice as possible. Galleys says you can extend at any time with reasonable notice. The Kitchen Rescue says you can extend if the pod is not already booked. Northern Kitchen Pods says it will always try to accommodate an extension. If your fitter's dates are uncertain, ask for a price for a longer hire too, so an overrun does not come as a surprise.
When is payment due?
Two suppliers publish payment dates. Temporary Pod Solutions wants the full hire price 14 days before delivery, and Essential Spaces four weeks before.
Temporary Pod Solutions takes its £200 deposit 30 days before delivery and the full hire price 14 days before. Essential Spaces takes a £200 deposit to secure the date and the final payment four weeks before your booking date, by bank transfer or card. Northern Kitchen Pods takes its deposit and delivery charge before delivery. The Kitchen Rescue's £250 deposit reserves the pod. Check the timings in each supplier's terms before you commit, particularly if your start date might move.
Insurance repairs
If you are replacing a damaged kitchen after an insured event, check your policy and speak with your insurer before assuming rental costs are covered. Ask providers if they can supply an itemised quotation for a claim.
How do you compare quotes like for like?
Ask every supplier to quote for the same dates, postcode, appliances and access, then compare the full projected total rather than a starting rate.
Before you accept a quote, check you can answer these questions for each supplier:
- What is the total for my dates, including delivery, collection and VAT?
- How much is the deposit, when is it refunded, and what can be deducted?
- Is gas included, metered or not needed? What will run off my electricity?
- Which appliances are in the pod I will get?
- What does an extra week cost, and how much notice do you need?
- When is payment due, and what happens if I cancel or my dates move?
For what each supplier needs from your property, see our kitchen pod hire comparison and how temporary kitchen hire works, and for planning the weeks without a kitchen, read how to live without a kitchen during renovation.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a temporary kitchen pod per month?
Four weeks costs £980 to £1,280 at the four suppliers that publish prices, before delivery. Temporary Pod Solutions charges £1,099 and Essential Spaces £995.
Is it cheaper per week to hire a temporary kitchen for longer?
Yes, at every supplier that publishes prices. Weekly rates fall for longer hires, and delivery and collection costs are spread over more weeks.
Do kitchen pod hire prices include VAT?
None of the four suppliers that publish prices says whether its prices include VAT. Ask each one for a total including VAT before you book.
Ready to compare suppliers?
Check each supplier's stated service area, then ask two or three for a written quote for the same dates and postcode.
Sources
Prices and terms are each supplier's own statements on its website, read on 28 October 2026. Figures marked with an asterisk are our arithmetic from those published rates. Suppliers can change their prices at any time: their written quote is what counts.
- Temporary Pod Solutions: temporary kitchen hire cost (prices, delivery, deposit, payment dates, gas).
- Essential Spaces: prices (prices, gas, utensils, deposits, payment, delivery).
- The Kitchen Rescue (daily rates, minimum hire, deposit, delivery and collection).
- Northern Kitchen Pods: pricing (rates, delivery bands, deposit, what is included).
- Galleys: FAQs (hire length, extensions) and home page (quotes).
- Kitchenpod: kitchens (indoor and outdoor kitchens).